Quick answer
CardSpicy takes what a product contains from the manufacturer’s own product pages rather than from a reseller’s description, and for Riftbound the right first buy is not a booster. A booster pack holds 14 cards — 7 common and 3 uncommon slots — a booster box holds 24 packs, the Champion deck is the preconstructed product built around one champion, and Proving Grounds is the two-to-four player product built for learning the game.
Opening packs gives you cards to choose from without by itself giving you something playable — a deck is built around a Champion Legend and battlefields, and its costs are paid from a separate rune deck.
Buying into a new card game is mostly a question of which product to open first. For Riftbound the answer is not a booster, and the reason is that a booster is only one of the parts a deck needs.
The products
| Product | Contents |
|---|---|
| Booster pack | 14 cards, including 7 common slots and 3 uncommon slots |
| Booster box | 24 booster packs |
| Champion deck | A preconstructed deck built around one champion |
| Proving Grounds | A two-to-four player product, built for learning the game |
A deck is built from parts, not just from cards
A Riftbound deck is assembled from components rather than bought as a stack. The most important card is the Champion Legend, which stays in play from the start of the game and defines the domains the deck may use. Battlefields are part of the deck as well, and they become the board once play begins. So opening packs gives you cards to choose from without by itself giving you something playable.
The rune deck is separate
Costs in Riftbound are paid with runes, and runes come from a separate rune deck rather than from your main deck. Each turn you gain two new runes, and they can be used in two ways: turned sideways and used up temporarily to pay ordinary costs, or spent outright and returned to the rune deck to pay for more powerful cards. The runes come back, which is what makes the second, heavier option a real choice rather than a one-time sacrifice.
Where to start
A preconstructed product is the entry point. It gives you a Legend, a deck and the pieces needed to learn the rules at a table, which is a better first purchase than packs when you do not yet know which domains you want to play. The Riftbound card index sets out what the domains do, and the scoring article explains what the deck is trying to achieve.
What this page does not claim
No prices, and no rarity odds for a pack. Product contents are taken from Riot’s own product pages; where the publisher does not publish a detail, this page does not state it.
Frequently asked questions
How many cards are in a Riftbound booster pack?
14 cards, including 7 common slots and 3 uncommon slots.
How many packs are in a Riftbound booster box?
24 booster packs.
Do I need to buy packs to start playing?
No. A preconstructed product gives you a Legend, a deck and the pieces needed to learn the rules at a table. Packs are for changing a deck once you know which domains you want to play.
What are runes in Riftbound?
Runes are the resource cards, kept in a separate rune deck rather than in the main deck. You gain two new runes each turn, and they pay the costs of the cards you play.
Are Riftbound cards the same size as Pokémon cards?
Yes. They are printed at the same 63 × 88 mm standard, so the same sleeves and rigid holders fit.
Sources
Sources and further reading
- Riot Games — the official Riftbound “How to Play” rules page: scoring by conquering and holding battlefields, the Victory Score, the domains, and the rune deck.
- Riot Games — the official Riftbound product pages: the contents of a booster pack and a booster box, the product line and the set list.
- Riot Games — the Riftbound State of the Game updates covering the set release dates and the point at which the Simplified Chinese and English releases came into step.
- This page was compiled 2026-10-06. Where a product detail is not published by the publisher, this page does not state it.
Product and rules detail is quoted from Riot Games’ own pages at the date cited and is subject to change. This page is structure and identification, not valuation: we publish no price for Riftbound cards, because the game is new enough that no tracked graded market exists for it yet.
Related reading
- The Riftbound card index — products, sets and card types
- How a game of Riftbound is won
- The six domains of Riftbound, explained
Where to go next
- The CardSpicy card index — every card we track, with its PSA 10 population and market history (195 cards).
- The illustrator index — every artist behind those cards, card by card (110 artists).


Leave a Reply